all about New York, USA



New York






Getting In

Getting Around


















New York Districts


New York City is divided by its residents into various districts and quarters, as well as into several official governmental divisions. New York City proper (the core area of interest to the traveler and outside observers) consists of five boroughs, which are actually five separate New York state counties - each borough has an independent local government within the city and a unique culture (each could be a large city in its own right!). Within each borough individual neighborhoods - some only a few blocks in size - have "personalities" lauded in music and film. Where you live, work and play in New York says something to New Yorkers about who you are.

The five New York boroughs are:

Manhattan - located on the famous island between the Hudson and East Rivers; includes many diverse and unique neighborhoods and is the most-visited area of New York City.

Brooklyn - the most populous borough, located south and east of Manhattan across the East River

Queens - located to the east of Manhattan, across the East River, and north of Brooklyn

The Bronx - located immediately north of Manhattan Island. This is the only part of New York City that is physically connected to the continental U.S.

Staten Island - a large island situated within New York harbor, south of Manhattan and just across the narrow Kill Van Kull from New Jersey


about; contact us; bookmark this site; New York links; link to us?

Popular City and Country Guides

Amsterdam; Brussels; Crete; Florida; Las Vegas; London; Paris; United Kingdom

Popular Game Links

backgammon; blackjack; craps; poker; roulette; slots; Texas hold'em